Wisconsin Cheesemakers bring home the Gold! – Cowsmo

Wisconsin Cheesemakers bring home the Gold!

Wisconsin cheesemakers were the gold medal leaders in this week’s World Champion Cheese Competition that wrapped up in Madison. The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) congratulates state cheesemakers for taking home 33 gold medals in their categories. Four Wisconsin cheeses moved on to Wednesday night’s finals.

“We’re excited to see Wisconsin quality cheeses recognized worldwide,” said DATCP Secretary Ben Brancel. “There’s a reason Wisconsin cheese production is number one in the nation. It all comes back to the skill, craftsmanship and dedication of cheesemakers around the state who produce more than 600 varieties of high quality cheeses. Thank you to all Wisconsin cheesemakers for continuing to make our cheeses world renown.”

Wisconsin topped the list of gold medal winners with 33. Switzerland was second with 7 gold medals and also won top honors with the 2014 World Championship Cheese. The Netherlands, Vermont and New York took 5 gold medals a piece, Austria and Canada each had four and California, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, New Jersey and Ohio each earned two gold medals.

Wisconsin cheesemakers that were named finalists include Marieke Gouda Super from Holland’s Family Cheese, Thorp; American Grana Parmesan from BelGioioso Cheese, Green Bay; Evalon, a hard goat’s milk cheese from LaClare Farms, Malone; and Meadow Melody Grande, a hard mixed-milk cheese from Hidden Springs Creamery, Westby.

“Congratulations to the thousands of cheesemakers from around the world who participated in the largest technical cheese competition ever held,” said Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association Director John Umhoefer. “Every medalist should be extremely proud of their accomplishment. WCMA is the sponsor of the biennial competition.

Organizers say Vermont and New York took five golds, while California, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, New Jersey and Ohio each earned two. Michigan, Oregon, Pennsylvania and South Dakota took one gold medal each.










Scroll to Top