Nominations for the OYF 2013 Award are due by Dec 15, 2012. - Cowsmo

Nominations for the OYF 2013 Award are due by Dec 15, 2012.

The OYF program begins each year with the nomination of farmers at the local level. Anyone can nominate a young farmer/farm couple for the regional recognition award and title of Ontario’s Outstanding Young Farmer  as long as they meet the following program eligibility requirements:

  • Must be between the ages of 18 and 39
  • Be farm operators
  • Derive a minimum of two-thirds of their income from farming

Click here for the 2013 Nomination Form. Nominations for the 2013 Award are due by December 15, 2012.

Step One:  Regional Level

If these eligibility requirements are met, a nomination form must be fully completed and returned to the OOYF Coordinator by the deadline in order to be eligible for review. The Coordinator will then contact the nominees and provide them with more details on the program and an application form.

Click here for the 2013 Application Form. Applications for the 2013 Award are due by January 31, 2013.

To help our nominees complete the application form, here is a sample form. Remember to fill in everything you do.

Completed application forms are sent to a preliminary judging panel, consisting of past OOYF winners who select the top five or six candidates based on the following criteria:

  • progress in agriculture career
  • extent of soil, water and energy conservation practices
  • crop and/or livestock production history
  • financial and management practices
  • contribution to the well-being of the community, province and nation

The top candidates will be asked to participate in an interview and presentation process at the regional event where the regional winner will be selected.

Step Two:  National Conference

The winner of the regional competition is invited to represent the region at the National Conference to be recognized for their achievements and be judged by a distinguished panel which selects the two honorees to receive Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmer Award.

Scroll to Top