National Mastitis Council calls Award Excellence nominations

National Mastitis Council calls for Award of Excellence nominations

The National Mastitis Council (NMC) is accepting nominations for its coveted Award of Excellence for Contribution to Mastitis Prevention and Control. This award recognizes an NMC member who has provided sustained contributions to mastitis prevention and control through research, extension and/or education, clinical practice or service to dairy producers. Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim, the award carries a cash honorarium and travel stipend to attend the National Mastitis Council 59th Annual Meeting, Jan. 28-31, Orlando, Fla., where the award will be presented.

To nominate an individual, complete the nomination form, which can be found here. In addition to the completed form, submit two or three letters of support. These letters should describe how the nominee has met award criteria, including time in the dairy industry, positions held, major contributions to mastitis prevention and milk quality, research, publications, leadership roles, participation in NMC activities and industry involvement. Also, include the nominee’s CV (curriculum vitae) and/or resume. Nominations are due Oct. 31, 2019.

Previous Award of Excellence recipients include Ken Leslie, University of Guelph; K. Larry Smith, The Ohio State University; the late Tom Herremans, Michigan Milk Producers Association; Larry Fox, Washington State University; Anne Saeman, National Mastitis Council; Robert Harmon, University of Kentucky; Joseph Hogan, The Ohio State University; and Andrew Johnson, Grande Cheese Company.

NMC is a professional organization devoted to reducing mastitis and enhancing milk quality. NMC promotes research and provides information to the dairy industry on udder health, milking management, milk quality and milk safety. Founded in 1961, NMC has about 1,000 members in more than 40 countries throughout the world.

Scroll to Top