National Dairy Shrine Announces Merton Sowerby Junior Scholarships - Cowsmo

National Dairy Shrine Announces Merton Sowerby Junior Scholarships

The National Dairy Shrine is pleased to announce the recipients of the Merton Sowerby Junior Merit Scholarships for 2020. These scholarships are designed to encourage qualified Junior status undergraduate students to pursue careers in the dairy industry or related occupations. This scholarship is named in honor of National Dairy Hall of Fame Pioneer and Klussendorf honoree Merton Sowerby.

Kathryn Bosley of Malone, New York, has been awarded the top scholarship of $1500. Kathryn is majoring in Animal Science at SUNY Cobleskill. Ms. Bosley has been very active in the College Dairy Club, Sigma Alpha, Tri-Beta Biological Honors Society and a Student Ambassador. Kathryn placed 16th at the National 4-H Judging contest and 21st at the International Post-Secondary Judging Contest. Ms. Bosley also has a strong passion for the Jersey breed. This year she is serving as a teaching assistant for a genetics course which is a start on her plans for the future of obtaining a Masters’ and PhD in Dairy Science with a career in genetics or dairy health research.

Additionally, four other undergraduate students have been awarded $1000 scholarships. They are:

Sydney Jewell from Spencer, New York a major in Animal Science at Penn State University. At Penn State Ms. Jewell is President of the Penn State Dairy Science Club and Co-Chair of the Holiday Cheese Box Sale Committee. She serves as a Penn State AG Advocate Ambassador for the college. Sydney belongs to the Gamma Sigma Delta Honors Society. With a great interest in science Ms. Jewell has had an internship with Cornell Cooperative Extension, done a research project on Holstein lineages and fertility, and this summer will intern with CDCB and USDA AGIL. Ms. Jewell plans a career as a professor and researcher in dairy genetics.

Brock Irwin of Belvidere, Illinois, who is attending the University of Wisconsin-River Falls majoring in Dairy Science. Brock has served as the Illinois PAS state president, Kaskaskia College Ag Club President as well as being active in the UWRF dairy club, UWRF Collegiate Farm Bureau and the UWRF Collegiate Dairy Judging Team. Mr. Irwin has also been involved in dairy bowl, and junior dairy breed activities.  Brock is planning on a career as a dairy herd management consultant and will always continue his passion for educating consumers on the benefits of dairy products and the humane treatment of dairy animals

Todd Allen of Jefferson, Maryland, who is attending Virginia Tech majoring in Dairy Science. Todd is serving as the Dairy Club Treasurer, is part of the Virginia Tech College Mentoring Program, and a member of Alpha Zeta. Todd has been successful in dairy judging and dairy bowl. Todd has received recognition from the Maryland Junior Holstein Association as well as the National Holstein Association, being a Distinguished Junior Semifinalist. Participating in Dairy Challenge provided a new interest in Todd combing data analysis and managing a dairy herd. This summer he will be interning with Lely working on automated milk processing technology. In the future Todd plans on becoming a precision dairy analytics analyst.  

Lindsey Sarbacker of Edgerton, Wisconsin who is attending the University of Wisconsin-Madison double majoring in Dairy Science and Life Sciences Communication. Lindsey is President of the National Agri-Marketing Association on campus, an officer in the Association of Women in Agriculture, active in Collegiate Farm Bureau & Badger Dairy Club and is a co-host of Ag Chat Radio. Her summer internship this year is with the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture as a Food Export Intern. With Lindsey’s passion for public speaking and marketing she plans a future in the Agri-Marketing industry.

For more information about the students being recognized by National Dairy Shrine or details about a future NDS Awards Banquet, contact the NDS office at [email protected]. Additional information on National Dairy Shrine membership or other activities is also available here. Dairy enthusiasts are encouraged to become a part of the most important dairy organization helping to inspire future dairy leaders, honor current or past dairy leaders and preserve dairy industry history. 

Scroll to Top