National Dairy Shrine Announces 2018 Adult Award Honorees

National Dairy Shrine Announces 2018 Adult Award Honorees

National Dairy Shrine (NDS) is pleased to announce the winners of the
Guest of Honor, Distinguished Dairy Cattle Breeder, Pioneer, and Progressive
Commercial Dairy Manager awards for this year. These awards were designed to honor past, present and future dairy industry leaders that have contributed to strengthening and energizing the dairy industry. The following is a short listing of each recipient. More detailed informational news releases will follow in the coming weeks.

Dr. Gordon Doak is the Guest of Honor, the highest recognition from the National
Dairy Shrine. Dr Doak is the President/CEO of the National Association of Animal
Breeders and lives in Columbia, Missouri.

The Distinguished Dairy Cattle Breeder is Randy Kortus, Mainstream Holstein,
Jersey & Ayrshires of Lynden, Washington.

Through an anonymous selection committee these long time career dairy leaders have
been selected as Pioneers.

  • David Burket, (East Freedom, PA), Polled Holstein and Red & White Breeder
  • George Harris, (New Milford, CT), Brown Swiss CEO and Breeder
  • Gerald Strandlund (Bellingham, WA), Dairy Journalist, Photographer & Merchandiser
  • Ronald Eustice, (Tucson, AZ), Red & White Breeder and International consultant
  • Zane Akins (Lady Lake, FL), CEO of Holstein Association USA

This year’s honorees will be inducted into the National Dairy Hall of Fame in Fort
Atkinson, Wisconsin and are an exemplary display of what this award is about.
The Progressive Commercial Dairy Managers award goes to Randy &
Jennifer Gross, Ash Grove Dairy, Lake Benton, MN. This award is designed to
recognize outstanding dairy managers early in their careers and to encourage others to pursue a dairy production career.

Please mark your calendars and plan to attend the annual National Dairy Shrine Awards Banquet on Thursday October 4 in Madison, Wisconsin. For more information about the banquet or about students, producers or industry representatives being recognized by National Dairy Shrine, please contact Dr. David Selner, Executive Director, at [email protected]

If you would like to know more about National Dairy Shrine, please visit our website. Started in 1949 this non-profit organization honors dairy industry leaders, encourages future dairy leaders and records dairy history at our Museum in
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin. Dairy enthusiasts are encouraged to become a part of the
most important national organization honoring dairy leaders, saving our dairy heritage, and inspiring future dairy leaders.

Scroll to Top