Holstein Association USA Seeks Nominations for 2023 Annual Awards - Cowsmo

Holstein Association USA Seeks Nominations for 2023 Annual Awards

Nominations are open for Holstein Association USA’s annual awards. These include the 2023 Distinguished Young Holstein Breeder, Elite Breeder, and Distinguished Leadership awards.

“Each year, it’s an honor to recognize outstanding Holstein Association USA members and friends of the organization who have made significant contributions to the dairy industry,” says Holstein Association CEO John Meyer. “We encourage members to think back on those who have made a positive impact on the Holstein breed and Holstein Association USA, and to submit nominations for these prestigious awards.”

The Distinguished Young Holstein Breeder Award recognizes significant accomplishments of young Registered Holstein® breeders ages 21 to 40. Submissions can be made for individuals, a couple, or business partners. The winning applicant will receive travel and lodging expenses (for up to two people) to National Holstein Convention, complimentary tickets to the Convention banquet, and a $2,000 cash award.

The Elite Breeder Award honors a living Holstein Association USA member, family, partnership, or corporation who has bred outstanding animals and thereby made a notable contribution to the advancement of U.S. Registered Holsteins.

The Distinguished Leadership Award is given to an individual who has provided outstanding and unselfish leadership that has contributed to the improvement of Holstein Association USA and/or the dairy industry.

Applications for the Elite Breeder and Distinguished Leadership awards are considered for three years after initial submission.

Award applications are available on the Holstein Association USA website, www.holsteinusa.com/awards/individuals. Nomination applications must be postmarked by January 31, 2023. Honorees will receive their recognition during the 2023 National Holstein Convention, June 23-27, in Lexington, Kentucky.

Additionally, a scholarship is available to students interested in agriculture who plan to pursue their master’s degree in business administration. The Robert H. Rumler MBA Scholarship awards $3,000 to a qualified individual pursuing their MBA at an accredited university. Applications for this scholarship must be received by April 15, 2023.

The previous award winners since 2007 are recognized below. Congratulations to these well-deserving recipients!

Previous Distinguished Young Holstein Breeder Award Winners

2022 – Mitch Kappelman, WI
2021 – Mackenzie, Andy, Tyler, and Kelly Reynolds, NY
2020 – Kurt and Sarah Loehr, WI
2019 – Sheri Regan-Danhof, IA
2018 – David Harvatine, NY
2017 – Craig Carncross, WI
2016 – Joe Loehr, WI
2015 – Joel Mills, PA
2014 – Greg Andersen, ID
2013 – Chad & Amy Ryan, WI
2012 – Jonathan & Alicia Lamb, NY
2011 – Brad Groves, MO
2010 – Timothy Baker, MI
2009 – Jan & Jeff King, NY
2008 – Mark & Angie Ulness, WI
2007 – Bruce & Brenda Long, WI

Previous Distinguished Leadership Award Winners

2022 – The Honorable Collin Peterson, MN
2021 – Dave Fischer, IL
2020 – Patricia Gifford, NY
2019 – George A. Miller, OH
2018 – William C. Nichol, PA
2017 – Jerry Strandlund, WA
2016 – Dick Witter, PA
2015 – M. Duane Green, MI
2014 – Marlowe Nelson, WI
2013 – Horace Backus, NY
2012 – Dr. Robert E. Walton, WI
2011 – Charles E. Iager, MD
2010 – Ida B. Ruby, OR
2009 – Dennis C. Wolff, PA
2008 – Richard T. Coyne, NY
2007 – William T. McKarns, OH

Previous Elite Breeder Award Winners

2022 – Sandy Valley Farms/Bauer Brothers, WI
2021 – Emerald Acres, WI
2020 – James and Nina Burdette, PA
2019 – David Bachmann Sr., WI
2018 – Tom and Gin Kestel, WI
2017 – Olmar Farms, MN
2016 – Harvue Farms – David Hardesty, VA
2015 – Conant Acres, ME
2014 – Robthom Holsteins, MO
2013 – Robert Miller, IL
2012 – Regancrest, IA
2011 – Frank Raymond Ruby, OR
2010 – Doug Maddox, CA
2009 – Robert J. Schauf, WI
2008 – Max “Kip” Herzog, CA
2007 – Marvin Nunes, CA

Previous Robert H. Rumler MBA Scholarship Recipients

2022 – Jacob Achen, MN
2021 – Trent Dado, WI
2018 – Tera Baker, MI
2017 – Kelly Driver, NY
2014 – Susie Chelesvig, IA
2010 – John Tauzel, NY
2008 – Kasey Osborn, NY
2007 – Nikolaus Sutter, WI

Scroll to Top