FCC names five outstanding Canadian female leaders in agriculture – Cowsmo

FCC names five outstanding Canadian female leaders in agriculture

Farm Credit Canada (FCC) is pleased to announce the five recipients of the 2013 Rosemary Davis Award. The award recognizes five outstanding Canadian women for their leadership and commitment to the Canadian agriculture and agri-food industry.

The 2013 winners are:
Colleen Younie – farm management extension specialist, business advisor and community leader from Morell, Prince Edward Island
Julia James – dairy farmer, opportunistic networker and youth in agriculture leader from Harley, Ontario (click here see link to article on Julia James)
Rhonda Driediger – berry producer, marketing specialist and agriculture industry leader from Langley, British Columbia
Sylvie Cloutier – geneticist, professor and scientific leader from Winnipeg, Manitoba
Pierrette Desrosiers – work psychologist, speaker and coach from Saint-Herménégilde, Quebec

The winners from across Canada will attend the 2013 Simmons School of Management Leadership Conference in Boston, in April. The internationally renowned conference provides a forum where women can learn from others and be inspired to achieve personal and professional goals.

“This international forum is an opportunity for us to see agriculture through the lens of diversity,” said Julia James, who was selected from Ontario. “The industry has diversified in so many ways throughout the world – through the products we grow, our agricultural practices and the people involved in the industry – there’s not a one-size-fits all approach to agriculture.”

“These five women are a real inspiration to all women, especially those in our industry. Each moment they devote to working and volunteering is a contribution that advances the business of Canadian agriculture and agri-food,” said Kellie Garrett, FCC Senior Vice-President, Strategy, Knowledge and Reputation. “We applaud the passion of these leaders and are encouraged to see the future of our industry shine even brighter through their dedication.”

The Rosemary Davis Award was created in 2005 to honour the first female FCC board chair. Rosemary Davis was a successful agribusiness owner and operator with more than 30 years of experience in the agriculture industry. Educated as an agrologist, she continually demonstrated her leadership in agriculture through innovation, creativity and a passion for the success of the industry.

To date, over 200 women – ranging from their early 20s to their mid-80s, from a variety of agriculture and agribusiness sectors – have been nominated for this award. Thirty-five Rosemary Davis Awards have been presented to outstanding women and leaders in the agricultural industry since 2005. Judging criteria include demonstrated leadership, community involvement, and making a difference in agriculture by displaying passion for the industry and a clear vision for its future. Each winner has recorded impressive achievements and taken the time to share her knowledge with others. Biographies are available at www.fccrosemarydavisaward.ca.

FCC is socially and environmentally responsible. Corporate social responsibility activities are focused in five areas: agriculture and food, customers, community, employees and the environment. The Rosemary Davis Award is one way FCC supports the development of a sustainable, competitive and innovative Canadian agriculture industry.

As Canada’s leading agriculture lender, FCC is advancing the business of agriculture. With a healthy portfolio of more than $25 billion and 20 consecutive years of portfolio growth, FCC is strong and stable – committed to serving the industry through all cycles. FCC provides financing, insurance, software, learning programs and other business services to producers, agribusinesses and agri-food operations. FCC employees are passionate about agriculture and committed to the success of customers and the industry. For more information, visit www.fcc.ca. Follow FCC on Twitter @FCCagriculture


Scroll to Top